Homemade Laundry Detergent

image(3)

Post-chemo, one of the things I became a fanatic about was cutting out chemicals from my life.  No, no one knows what causes the type of cancer I had, but since my treatments, I have done everything in my power to ensure that if it does come back, I won’t be able to blame myself.  So for me, that includes soaps, bug spray, medicines, cleaners, fertilizers, etc.  If there is a natural way to do it instead of automatically going to chemicals, I have sought it out.

Now I make all of my cleaners, including all purpose cleaner, window spray, granite cleaner, laundry soap, etc.  The only one I haven’t been able to find a good substitute for is dishwashing detergent but trust me I am looking.  This post will be part one in a series of the cleaning products I am currently using and I am very happy with the results of.

The recipe I use for laundry soap is dry – I don’t know about you, but trying to find space to store mass quantities of liquid in my house with three kids is precarious at best and a disaster at its worst.  The recipe is pretty simple – just 3 ingredients. It is low sud so it does work in HE washers.

  • One bar Fels Naptha soap, grated
  • One cup Borax
  • One cup Washing Soda

I’m a little extreme, so I made an extreme batch – I used 10 bars of soap, 10 cups of borax, and 10 cups of washing soda, mixed it all up and then put it in a pretty glass jar with a pretty label in the laundry room.  I have no idea how long it will last.  For my family of 5, I’ve been using this batch since July (so over 6 months now) and I’m still not halfway through it… so I’m hoping if I make up this much at a time, making laundry soap will be a annual event.  I use one tablespoon per load and I am very happy with the results.

The only issue I would mention is there is no smell.  This doesn’t bother me – if my clothes are clean, they don’t need to smell good – but I know some people prefer that their clothes have a scent.  I don’t use fabric softener or dryer sheets (again, the crazy fanatic no chemicals thing) but I’m working on a way to use essential oils to scent my clothes in the dryer (so far, I haven’t had any luck but I’m not giving up yet).

 

5 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. proteinandpie says:

    I love homemade laundry detergent!! This is very similar to the recipe that I used to use. I can’t find one that works with my HE washer though 😦 I’m super excited to hear about your natural cleaners. I was just looking at the different “chemical free” cleaners at Walmart today. Not a single one of them say that they disinfect and they all still had chemicals in them!

  2. Michelle says:

    Hi Amy!

    Quick question…where can I buy those ingredients? I’ve never heard of them before..thanks in advance!

    Michelle

  3. Janelle says:

    I mix about 3 cups of distilled white vinager and 25 drops of Lavander oil in a bottle and shake each time I use it. I put about 3-5 tbsp. in the compartment for fabric softener in my HE washer. It cuts back on static and infuses my clothes with a subtle Lavander scent, however you could use whatever essential oil you preferred the scent of.

Leave a Reply

