Growing your own Organic Sprouts

IMG_5740

For Christmas, my sweet husband bought me a grow your own sprouts kit… Well, actually, I picked it out, told him I wanted it, and he told me to go ahead a buy it for myself, wrap it and put it under the tree… I guess it doesn’t matter how it got there. The bottom line is I love adding fresh sprouts for my salad and now I can grow my own.

There are a great many benefits to eating sprouts.  Experts estimate that there are up to 100 times more enzymes in sprouts than there are in traditional fruits and veggies.  The protein quality is also higher, and the vitamin and fiber content increases substantially over traditional fruits and vegetables.  Sprouts also help to maintain alkalinity in the body.  And while I am not a doctor, I have read studies that indicate broccoli sprouts may be helpful if you are fighting cancer**.

I ordered the kit pictured above from www.seedsnow.com and in retrospect, I didn’t really NEED the kit. I already had most of the items needed around my house aside from the seeds. The kit was handy because it came with everything I needed, but I wasn’t completely happy with my purchase.  It was advertised as non-GMO (true) and organic, but actually only one of the seed packets was organic.

I would recommend ordering just the organic non-gmo sprouts from www.seedsnow.com and sourcing the rest of the materials yourself. It would likely save you money and wouldn’t be too difficult to do. So here is what you will need:

  • Organic, non-gmo sprouting seeds
  • A large mason jar
  • Some sort of mesh to cover the mouth of your jar
  • A towel
  • Water

Step by Step Directions

IMG_5815

Step One:

Measure out sprout seeds. I used small alfalfa sprout seeds, so I used 2 Tbsp of seeds. For larger seeds, like peas, you may need up to ¼ cup.

Step Two:

Put your seeds into the ball jar and cover them with water.  There should be about an inch of water over the top of the seeds.  Screw on the lid with mesh covering attached and allow to sit overnight, 8-12 hours.  Cover the entire jar with a small towel during the entire process (the sprouts should be kept out of the light as much as possible during the process).

IMG_5816

Step Three:

In the morning, drain all of the water off the sprouts and rinse them with fresh water – you can leave them in the jar while you rinse them.  Drain the excess water and turn the jar onto it’s side and shake the jar to spread out the seeds evenly.  They should be damp but there should be no standing water.  Cover with the towel.

IMG_5817

Step Four:

Over the next three to five days, remember to rinse the sprouts 2-3 times per day, and always leave the jar on it’s side, covered with a damp towel.  Again, you can leave the sprouts in the jar to rinse them; just be sure to drain the excess water.  By the fourth or fifth day, your jar should be full of organic sprouts to enjoy any way you choose.  After the fifth day, I did leave mine in the jar, uncovered in the fridge.  I’m not sure what the correct procedure is for storing them but this has worked well for me.

IMG_5853

These organic sprouts are a great addition to any clean eating, organic, non-gmo meal plan.  Enjoy!

**Side note – the American Cancer Society does not recommend sprouts in your diet if you have a weakened immune system such as occurs during chemotherapy.  While there are a great many benefits to eating sprouts, be sure to consult your doctor first if you fall into this category.

5 thoughts on “Growing your own Organic Sprouts

    • Amy Allen says:

      Leave them in the jar – I just put my jar under the faucet and let water run directly into the jar, then dumped it out. The screen keeps the seeds/sprouts in the jar but lets the water out!

  1. Jackie Hurd says:

    Thanks for sharing Amy! I should give this a try… I am always hesitant about grocery store sprouts because they go bad within a day or two of bringing them home so it will be nice to be able to grow them myself!

Leave a Reply

