Homemade HEALTHY Movie Theater Popcorn

homemade healthy movie theater popcorn how to make

Throughout the course of making healthy changes to my diet, the one thing I’ve really missed is good popcorn. Last year for my birthday, my sisters got me an air popper, which is AWESOME, minus the fact that air popped popcorn tastes NOTHING like actual delicious, buttery movie theater popped popcorn.  In fact, as my husband would say, it tastes a whole lot like cardboard.

I did find one tasty recipe for Rosemary and Black Pepper popcorn, and it was good, but it wasn’t what I’ve been looking for and consequently, while I’ve done great resisting microwave popcorn, I’ve almost always caved and went for the artificially disgusting popcorn you can get from the movie theater… until now.

This past weekend, my daughter, my husband and I decided to have a Harry Potter movie marathon.  I volunteered to make popcorn.

They both groaned and requested a trip to the grocery store to buy a bag of movie theater popcorn.

I refused.

But instead of subjecting them to cardboard flavored popcorn, a quick google search revealed that I may, in fact, be able to make a good substitute at home.  With just a few modifications, here are the results:  Delicious movie theater butter popcorn, without all the unhealthy stuff – because really, popcorn in and of itself is not terribly unhealthy, it’s all the junk we add to it. And while this isn’t 21 Day Fix approved, it’s an ok cheat once in a while.  The secret is using Ghee (clarified butter) instead of regular butter, which makes your popcorn overly soggy and not tasty.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup unpopped popcorn

2 T. Coconut oil

1/4 cup melted ghee

Himalayan pink salt to taste

Directions:

Heat a saucepan over high heat – I used a 3 qt saucepan.  Melt coconut oil completely.  (You could use a different type of oil, but you won’t taste it.  I was wary, but the popcorn did not have a coconut flavor at all.)  Dump in 1/2 cup popcorn kernels and shake around in pan to coat them with the oil.  When one kernel starts to pop, cover your pan so you don’t end up with popcorn all over your kitchen.

When the popping stops, dump your popcorn into a bowl and drizzle with melted ghee.  Add salt to taste and enjoy.

amy allen fitness star diamond beachbody coach

Leave a Reply

