Personal Development… do I really need it? and WHY??

A cool thing happened to me earlier this year. My husband and I went on a free cruise with Beachbody (that’s not the cool thing, although that was pretty awesome) and while we were there, he said some pretty sweet things about me.

amy allen cruise cozumel mexico grand cayman beachbody free trip success club personal development

One of those things was about how I’ve grown personally since starting my health transformation and my journey with Beachbody. He told some of our friends “Even if Amy never made a cent with Beachbody, I would still be grateful for it because it has helped her grow so much as a person.”

That is one of the best compliments I have ever received in my life. You see, I’ve always been a very shy person. Like I won’t ask where the bathroom is at the store shy. I won’t call the bank shy. And the fact that my husband, who knows me better than anyone else, has noticed my growth really made my day. It kind of made my year, I guess, since here I am 9 months later, still basking in the glow of that compliment.

Clearly, Beachbody is a health and fitness company. But more than any other company or business that I have worked with before, they emphasize personal growth, and so daily over the past 2 and a half years, I have invested in myself. I read books about growth. I watch videos. I go to seminars. And every bit of what I invest in myself, I get to keep no matter what else happens in my life.

To be honest, the first six months I was coaching, I thought the personal development portion was bogus and I didn’t do it. And while I had a moderate amount of success, it was nothing to write home about. I started to get stuck and my business wasn’t growing. And at that point, I thought “Well maybe it’s time to give this personal development thing a try.”  And that’s when my business really started to grow.

So this year…

I’m making a plan.  Rather than just reading whatever I feel like and attending events with no plan for the future, I made myself a personal development calendar.  It includes books, events and online training programs for the year.  In addition to attending 3 live events (aside from Beachbody sponsored events), I’m also going to read at least 24 personal developments, which I invite you to do along with me.

Here’s my schedule for the year:

January –

Entreleadership, by Dave Ramsey

How to Build Network Marketing Leaders, by Tom Schreiter

February –

People Follow You, by Jeb Blount

Playing Big, by Kim Flynn

March –

The Slight Edge, by Jeff Olson

Awaken the Giant Within, by Tony Robbins

April –

360 Degree Leader, by John Maxwell

Motivation Manifesto, by Brendon Burchard

Tribes, by Seth Godin

May –

Go For No, by Richard Fenton

Eat That Frog, by Brian Tracy

June –

Top Earning Recruiter Secrets, by Ray and Jessica Higdon

Strengths Finder 2.0, by Tom Rath

Quitter, by Jon Acuff

July –

Magic of Thinking Big, by David Schwartz

15 Invaluable Laws of Growth, by John Maxwell

August –

Developing the Leader Within, by John Maxwell

Start, by Jon Acuff

September –

Go Pro, by Eric Worre

Entrepreneur Roller Coaster, by Darren Hardy

5 Lessons a Millionaire Taught Me, by Richard Paul Evans

October –

Think and Grow Rich, by Napoleon Hill

Put Your Dream to the Test, by John Maxwell

November –

Compound Effect, by Darren Hardy

Girlboss, by Sophia Amoruso

December –

5 Levels of Leadership, by John Maxwell

PUSH, by Chalene Johnson

As I finish reading these (some of them for the second time), I plan to write up a short review and share it here for accountability.  No matter where you are or what career you are in, I invite you to join me in personal development this year.

BONUS TIP:  Goodwill or the Salvation Army is a GREAT place to find some of these books for a fraction of the price!  Last weekend I found THREE of the books on my list for .99 cents EACH – score!!

Leave a Reply

